November 23rd-day 11 PPROM

Let’s start with the night before when Micah said he had a surprise delivery for me because he had to travel home to be with the kids who were not feeling well. The hospital at this time had me out up in a hotel down the street because we weren’t going to resusitate baby until 25 weeks. About an hour later, there was a knock at the door, and lo and behold, my oldest son, Noah, was standing there. He came to keep me company while daddy was away. We ordered food and played cards.

God is truly amazing and knows all. I was up very early and puttzing around on my ipad, because, go figure, I couldn’t sleep. I felt a small gush, which at this point I had gotten used to and didn’t think much about it. I grabbed a small hand towel and put it between my legs.  A couple if minutes later, I got up to go to the bathroom and when I turned on the light, there was bright red blood. Panic, shaking hands, heart beating out of my chest. Did I say panic?  All I could think of was my baby girl and my health. Was I going to be ok? Was she?  I picked up the phone to get a hold of Micah. No answer. More panic. I try again and this time success. By the way, my husband doesn’t wake up to the phone ringing or even alarms. He barely wakes up when I am physically trying to wake him up. God was definitely working. He was trying to tell me to calm down and wake up Noah. Oh ya, Noah was there. That’s the fastest way to get to the hospital. I hung up the phone and shook Noah twice to get him up.

Out the door – time: 6:20am. Of course it’s raining in Charleston and that means flooding. We get to the hospital in abut 10 minutes, even though to me it seemed like hours. I go into the emergency room and said that I needed to go to labor and delivery, it’s an emergency. The lady at the desk says, “I’m not labor and delivery.” I’m literally freaking out and I say/yell, “I need a freaking wheelchair to labor and delivery now!” Someone with a brain rushed to help me and up we went. I’m so glad that Noah was there with me. I don’t know what I would have done if I was by myself.

I was wheeled into exam room 1 and I was crying, I was panicked. I was so wishing that Micah was here with me. The nurse was trying to talk to me and she stops suddenand pulls me into her arms and hugs me tightly. She tells me that it’s ok and to take some deep breathes. She was so sweet and calm. Another angel. An angel that I needed at that exact moment. Instead of doing all the things she as supposed to be doing, she instead tells me to lay down so we can hear my baby girl. She knew what I neededto hear. She knew exactly what I needed in that moment. And she took the time to do it. It took a couple of seconds…some of the longest in my life to hear her heart beating. To hear she was ok. After the fact, Noah told me he had never seen me look so scared,so desperate. But, there she was…Abigail Rae sounded great. So far so good. They checked me and said they couldn’t see any active bleeding. Good sign. I wasn’t having contractions. Good sign. My temp was normal. Yet another good sign. All good signs!! So why was there blood?!? Well, doctors practice, and they had some theories. The best one they came up with wasmyplacenta started to pull away, but stopped. It can happen they say. It is more common with PPROM.

Micah made it from our town back to Charleston in 1 hr. 15 min.  We are almost 2 hours away. He was praying for me and Abigail the entire way. He won’t admit it or say it, but I’m sure he was scared. Who wouldn’t be?!? I surely was. I surely am.

We transferred over to the antepartum unit. We were supposed to be back there on Tuesday anyway, so, we were a little early. Instead of day by day, I’m now going hour by hour, by the grace of God. God hears our cries. Me knows our hearts. He is by our side. Always.

Psalm 18:6

In my distress I called upon The Lord, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even unto his ears.

Psalm 127:3

behold, children are a gift of The Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward.

Leave a comment